Celebrations All Around and A Short Break

by The British Asian Blog

This week and the last few have been special weeks.  Special for many reasons.  First and foremost, it’s a time in which we have seen many celebrations of many religions, more so, for those religions that are dear to us despite being in another part of the world from where they originated from, and for which our lives and future heavily depend on.

I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate followers of the Sikh religion, in which few weeks ago ‘Joti Jot Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji’ was celebrated as well as ‘Gurgadi Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji’  As for Islam and Muslims around the world, today signalled the day of Hajj, and as a result I’d like to wish all the Muslims a very happy ‘Eid al-Adha’.  Last, but not the least, I’d like to wish a happy ‘Dussehra’ which was celebrated by the Hindu faith on Wednesday.

I can’t recall a time in the past when such important events for each religion were celebrated in close proximity to one another.  Other than harmony and peaceful living, it encourages respect and tolerance for each other, for each different religion and those communities that live with us.

Moving onto more business related news, this time of the year is special to me in other ways.  It’s a time when I take my (towards the) end of the year trip or rather a business venture to Hong Kong and China.  Much like this time last year, I am off to that part of Asia to spend my money in bulk buying massive quantities of the  latest gadgets and accessories, to import into the UK with my regular mission to sell over Christmas.  Something I have been doing for many years now, other than being a mini adventure, it is a very lucrative seasonal business venture, with large return on my investment.  So all those people out there with Apple, Samsung, HTC, Blackberry products, keep an eye out at the retail stores for some interesting eye-catching stuff.

In addition, I’m not only going to China and Hong Kong, I will be visiting two other destinations soon after.  The second being Singapore for linking up and connecting flight to my 3rd destination being Florida, Hunters Creek.  The later two destinations will be pushing me for time but it’s a cheeky last-minute decision which has been made in the last day or two.  I tell you, it’s amazing what fluttering of eyelashes can make me do, with a promise of plenty of apple pies.

So as a result of the above, I will be out of this country from Monday 29th October and my return will be 7 or so days later (if I feel like it) – as I need to get some important badminton practice in too while in Florida.

So my dear readers and followers, I wish you all the best in the coming days, and I hope to catch up with you guys on my return.  I don’t intend to tweet or blog during this time so until then…

Au revoir

