The Apprentice 2012 – First Episode – Week One

Simplicity Over Complicated

As I get more and more older, I convince myself more and more, that all the problems we face in the world is a result of ‘failed / bad communication’.

Last Wednesday – my notion was given further strength when I witnessed two teams battle it out to win a ‘simple’ task.  In life, somewhere and somehow we all go through an experience where we ‘over complicate’ simple tasks.  We learn, as we get older that a simple approach to a simple task is the better way forward – less time consuming and less complicated but with the same outcome.

So What Happened:  For those of you who watched The Apprentice 2012 Episode One – I won’t bore you any further with the details of what went on.  For those who didn’t watch it or have yet to watch it – don’t worry there are no spoilers here and, if you are still wanting to watch it then I recommend BBC iPlayer (you have 7 days).

Over the years, I have seen Lord Alan Sugar explain his tasks to the apprentices.  I admire his approach in explaining the tasks in less than 20 words.  This first task was probably the simplest I’ve ever seen on The Apprentice.  If I owned a business where I had a sales team – I would force my sales team at gunpoint  to watch this episode for ‘how not to do business’.

The opening moments of this first episode showed the future of British commerce, I had to grit my teeth while I watched self-promotions of these individuals.  I wrote a little about this few days ago and it’s worth the effort to mention this again as some had described themselves amongst other descriptions – ‘A master puppeteer pulling the strings’,A shark and total reflection of perfection’, ‘Like an animal I will roar my way to the top’, and ‘A blonde assassin’ delivered with total focus without batting an eyelid

My first impressions of some of the apprentices when they first entered the boardroom, at the beginning of the tasks, was the group consisted of loatheables apprentices with the usual delusional declarations of egotistical self priced – despicable characters.  Some were full of attitude and some were already raising their left eyebrows with a smirk as Lord Alan Sugar spoke at them.

So after regaining my consciousness after week one episode, I have compiled below ‘lessons learnt’ and where applicable tried to explain – how things should have been done.

Understand the Task:  Often people fail at the first hurdle and one factor to this failure is not understanding the task.  Understanding the Task means knowing what to do.
The Apprentice was no exception.  The task was simple and required a simple thought out process.  There was nothing complicated about it and neither did it need any debate.  I think both teams understood the task but the Boy’s team now called Phenix had the upper hand, as they felt confident from the start – and I guess they knew how simple the task was.

Do your Research:  In any market, be it business or your own profession – doing research is vital.  Most people fail to recognise how important ‘research’ is.  It prepares you to understand the future and more importantly prepares you to make those smart moves to keep you ahead of the game.
None of the apprentices made any effort to find out the market trend, potential explosive idea or even which area was strong to sell at.

Identify Individual Skills Set:  Knowing what the strengths and weaknesses are can make all the difference in achieving the end result.  This is more important to figure out in a group especially since you will be relying on those people to win you the task.
Both teams failed abysmally in my view to identify who will be good at what.  If you are going to be working together in the future, it’s very important to understand the skill sets of individuals.  Knowing who is good at what can potentially be a winning strategy going forward in this series.

Have a Strategy:  Having the right strategy makes all the difference in seeing where you are and how you intend to get where you want to be.  Think of it as a roadmap from A to B.
The Boy’s team seemed to have a good hold in this space.  It was clear in their mind – how much to spend on stock, what end product to produce and once you have a product, depending on its uniqueness what price should it be sold at.
On the other side, the Girl’s team, now known as ‘Sterling’ were terrible in getting organised, let alone defining a strategy.  They may have chosen a Project Manager who was in this trade already – and in theory should have already known exactly what to do, how to do it and when to do it – but the Project Manager lost her ability to get organised or set a long term strategy which should have made all the difference.

Identify a Unique Idea or Product:  The product to sell and to whom is one of the most fundamental aspects of business.  Although it’s not the only thing which can win you the task, and as the Girl’s team proved so successfully that despite having a good product, if you don’t manage everything else correctly – you can still loose.
With so many ‘so called’ bright people on both teams, identifying a unique idea and producing a unique product should have been a walk in the park.  The unique product or idea sells itself, and both team failed to recognise this.

In the interest of keeping this post short, I’d like to sum up the remain points – as due to the amount of failures in the this task, I can go on and on.

In addition to the above, it’s equally important to ‘get your product right’, without which you can’t do justice to the good idea.  The other aspect which I think the Boy’s team succeeded in doing was to ‘delegate effectively’, this in the end proved to make all the difference between both teams.  The final point is to have ‘confidence to make decisions’, and again the Girl’s team Project Manager Gabrielle Omar clearly lost her confidence in making decision, especially when up against strong personalities constantly having a stab at you and your plan.

In the end, the Bulgarian block of flats came tumbling down:  Bilyana Apostolova who works as a trainee Wealth Manager in the UK didn’t last long, and as I witnessed Bilyana beg for a second chance, despite my gut feeling that the blonde assassin was on the verge of being fired I think Lord Alan Sugar changed his mind in the last second to raise his finger at Bilyana.

The following video are a tribute to Bilyana Apostolova:

..and to see some funny highlights of this episode, check out an edited version below:

8 thoughts on “The Apprentice 2012 – First Episode – Week One

  1. It makes great telly for sure 🙂 I have been watching apprentice from the time it first aired – and I wait for it – every year!

    Really like the analysis you have done here. Do you follow the live blog on guardian? It is quite fun.

    In the girls team, I think the PM, was definitely out of her depth – she seemed clueless about the numbers – which would have made a huge difference. As for Bilyana – I think she dug herself into the hole… If only she had stopped talking, the blond assassin was sure to go. At least Bilyana did something, Katie, did nothing – from what they showed..

    1. I don’t really follow any other blog relating to The Apprentice, I just about have enough time to work on my own.

      Yes I agree, the Blonde Assassin was, in my view, on her way out but the Romanian block of flats simply brought the focus back on to her. It just goes to show, sometimes it’s best to avoid attention which the crap hits the fan.

      Thanks for your comment.

  2. Pingback: The Apprentice 2012 – Second Episode Today – Week Two | The British Asian Blog

  3. Hi TBAB,

    You raise some interesting points which are all valid when looking to launch a new product into the market, however in fairness to these “dip-sticks” on tv, they have a limited amount of time in which to do their preparation. Quite clearly the product the boys came up with was crap in design and quality, it was also highly patronising to the audience it was pitched to, however they made significantly more money because they pitched it right, didn’t waste too much time hunting down shops miles away and didn’t threaten shop-keepers. I guess the pressure of a television crew in your face also helps people in the street turn over their money. Note: how many Asian’s brought any of those products? NONE. because we ain’t that stupid.

    These days the market is flooded with duplicate products and a very tiny proportion have any “unique” elements to it but that’s why people spend so much money on the marketing side because ultimately it can “mask poor goods” well.

    As for the programme, I would say this but the novalty is beginning to wear off pretty quick. As Sir Alan is dishing out 1/4 million, he has the licence to say what he wants,which I guess isn’t too bad. I am not a fan of reality TV however I had in the past tolerated this programme but I am loosing faith. Just as well AC Milian are playing Baraca tonight!!

  4. I think despite the limited time given to the contestant, if they really have that entrepreneurial instinct, doing the basics as a no brainier. As you clearly said, the camera men surrounding each team is yet another advantage to the teams and individuals in selling their products.

    From the crap that is aired on the TV, I too am not a big fan of unscripted TV and reality TV – but from the junk that is aired, I prefer to watch only a couple of programmes such as The Apprentice, The Dragons Den and Master Chef.

    I appreciate The Apprentice is not everyone’s cup of tea but sometimes when alternative drinks are not that appealing, a cup of tea is the right choice.

  5. Pingback: The Apprentice 2012 – Third Episode Today – Week Three | The British Asian Blog

  6. Pingback: The Apprentice 2012 – Fourth Episode Today – Week Four | The British Asian Blog

  7. Pingback: The Apprentice 2012 – Fifth Episode Today – Week Five | The British Asian Blog

Leave a comment